Basel. Beyeler Foundation
The Beyeler Foundation and Museum owes its emergence to a family couple of collectors, Ernst and Hildy Beyeler. The Foundation was established in 1982, and the Museum – in 1997. The idea was conceived in 1952 when the couple renamed their antiquarian bookshop as "Galerie Beyeler" and embarked on the art business journey. Hildy was in charge of local management, while Ernst was extensively traveling around the countries and auctions, working to expand the collection. In 1989 it was completed and exhibited in Centro de Arte Reina Sofía in Madrid, where it earned international acclaim. Presently the Beyeler collection comprises over 350 masterpieces of world famous painters. The museum’s ultramodern building custom-designed by Italian architect Renzo Piano is organically integrated into a picturesque park in Riehen, a town at the outskirts of Basel.
Kandinsky's artworks in this collection
Improvisation 10, 1910
Sign Series, 1931